LGB 20471 HG3/3 Ballenberg Steam Locomotive



All modifications described herein are done at your own risk !

Home Garden Railway Digital Conversions

Contents


Decoder Installation

I equipped this loco with the ZIMO MX65S decoder. I did not want to change the 5 volt lights and the smoke generator and wired the decoder directly to the LGB PCB (printed circuit board). The following diagrams show the LGB PCB and the connections for the ZIMO decoder.



The pins marked in red are actually meant for direct connection of the 55020 LGB decoder. I proceeded as follows with my conversion:

The following must be noted:

Top

Correction of Loco Lighting

Unfortunately, on this loco, only the lights in the direction of travel are illuminated; the taillights are not. I have connected the appropriate lights to the light in the cab as follows:




Top

Sound

At present, only Semaphore in Switzerland offers a sound module for this locomotive. The price for the sound module kit was SFr 565.00 (as of 26.Jan.2000). Since I found this too expensive, I opted for a compromise with respect to absolute true prototype sound and decided to use the Soundtraxx DSX sound module " British L-1 Class tank ". This is a digital decoder which only provides sound and is connected in parallel to an existing decoder (in this case ZIMO MX65S). I purchased this module directly in the United States (see homepage Soundtraxx) for approx.. SFr. 250,00 (postage and handling included). You can listen to samples of the various sounds on Soundtraxx's homepage.

Connecting this decoder is very simple:



The ZIMO MX65S decoder and the Soundtraxx decoder are programmed to respond to the same address. That way, one can select the locomotive, control it as required and also have full control of the sound functions of the sound decoder. To be able to program each decoders separately, a small on/off switch needs to be installed for each of the decoders.

The one problem that still remains is synchronization of the "steam exhaust chuff" with the speed of the locomotive. One option is to use the Soundtraxx "Auto-Exhaust" feature of the decoder. In this mode, the decoder generates the 'exhaust chuff' based on the speed control setting of the throttle. Unfortunately, during rapid changes in speed, the 'chuff' synchronization no longer works satisfactorily.

In the above diagram, a "Cam Pickup" wire is shown. If one connects this wire with one of the two rails, a "chuff" sound is generated. I therefore decided to use a reed contact and magnet to generate the "chuff" sounds. If one removes the lower cover of the locomotive, one will find that the perfect space for a 'magnet-wheel' exists near the very first axle.



I made a plastic disc, 20mm (3/4 inch) in diameter and 8mm (1/4 inch) in thickness. Then I filed slots for the four round magnets (diameter 2mm, or 1/16th inch) and fastened them with quick-setting adhesive. One has to be careful that all the positive and negative poles of the magnets are facing the same side of the plastic disc. I then cut a segment out of the disk, pushed the disc onto the axle of the locomotive and fastened it with quick-setting adhesive as well. I re-attached the segment. Next I mounted the reed switch. It is advisable to check that the reed switch is actually triggered by the magnets (use a continuity tester or a multimeter).



The red arrow points to the reed switch. The blue arrow points to one magnet on the disk. One has to make an opening in the base plate to accommodate the disc (red arrow).



The next illustration shows the ZIMO decoder (blue arrow), the sound decoder (yellow arrow) and the original LGB PCB (red arrow).



The loudspeaker (red arrow) was placed in the corner of the cab



Top


Translated by Knut Schartmann

© 2018 by This Manhart - last modification: 2000-06-01 - Impressum - Datenschutzerklärung

LGB 20471 HG3/3 Ballenberg Dampflok



Die hier beschriebenen Änderungen erfolgen auf eigenes Risiko !

Home Gartenbahn Umbauten

Inhalt


Decoder-Einbau

In diese Lok habe ich den Decoder MX65S von ZIMO eingebaut. Ich wollte die 5V-Lampen und den Raucherzeuger nicht austauschen und schloss den Decoder direkt an die Platine der Lok an. Die folgenden Skizzen zeigen die LGB-Platine und das Anschluss-Schema für den ZIMO-Decoder.



Die rot markierten Stifte sind eigentlich für den direkten Anschluss des LGB-Decoders 55020 gedacht. Ich bin bei meinem Umbau wie folgt vorgegangen:

Folgende Punkte sind unbedingt zu beachten:

Zum Anfang

Korrektur Beleuchtung

Leider brennen bei dieser Lok immer nur die Lampen in Fahrtrichtung. Das Rücklicht auf der anderen Seite brennt nicht.
Ich habe die entsprechenden Lampen an das Licht des Führerhauses angeschlossen. Ich bin wie folgt vorgegangen:




Zum Anfang

Sound

Auf dem Markt wird zur Zeit nur von der Firma Semaphore in der Schweiz ein Sound-Modul für diese Lok angeboten. Der Preis für das Soundkit beträgt SFr 565.00 (26.1.2000). Da mir dies zuviel Geld war und ich bereit war Kompromisse bezüglich der absoluten Vorbildtreue einzugehen, entschied ich mich für das DSX-Soundmodul "British L-1 Class Tank" von Soundtraxx. Es handelt sich hierbei um einen Digital-Decoder, der nur Sound-Eigenschaften hat und parallel zu einem bestehenden Decoder (hier ZIMO MX65S) eingebaut werden kann. Ich kaufte das Modul direkt in den USA (siehe Homepage Soundtraxx) für ca. SFr. 250.00 (inkl. Porto und Versand). Auf der Homepage von Soundtraxx kann man sich Sound-Beispiele der Loks anhören.

Der Anschluss ist einfach:



Der ZIMO-Decoder MX65S und der Soundtraxx-Decoder erhalten die gleiche Adresse. So kann man die Lok anwählen, fahren und die Geräusche auslösen. Damit man die beiden Decoder getrennt programmieren kann, muss je ein Kippschalter für die beiden Decoder eingebaut werden.

Jetzt bleibt noch das Problem der Synchronisation der Dampfstösse mit der Bewegung der Lok. Soundtraxx hat in den DSX-Decodern das sog. "Auto-Exhaust" eingebaut. Der Decoder erzeugt die Dampfstösse aus der Geschwindigkeitsvorgabe des Handreglers. Bei einer raschen Geschwindigkeitsänderung stimmt die Sache aber leider nicht mehr überein.

Im obigen Diagramm ist eine Leitung "Cam Pickup" zu sehen. Wenn man dieses Kabel mit einer der beiden Schienen verbindet, ertönt ein Dampfstoss. Somit beschloss ich mit Hilfe von einem Reedkontakt und Magneten diese Dampfstösse auszulösen. Wenn man die Abdeckung auf der Unterseite der Lok löst, entdeckt man, dass bei der vordersten Achse ein perfekter Leerraum für ein Magnet-Rad vorhanden ist.



Ich fertigte aus Kunststoff eine Scheibe mit Durchmesser 20mm und Dicke 8mm an. Anschliessend feilte ich für die 4 Rund-Magnete (Durchmesser 2mm) die Schlitze und befestigte sie mit einem Sekundenkleber. Es muss darauf geachtet werden, dass die Nord- und Südpole alle je auf der gleichen Seite der Scheibe sind ! Nun schnitt ich ein Segment der Scheibe heraus, schob sie auf die Achse der Lok und befestigte sie ebenfalls mit Sekundenkleber. Das Segment klebte ich dann ebenfalls wieder fest. Nun plazierte ich den Reed-Schalter. Es empfiehlt sich mit Hilfe eines Durchgangprüfers (z.Bsp. Multimeter) genau zu testen, ob der Reed- Schalter wirklich auslöst.



Der rote Pfeil zeigt auf den Reedschalter. Der blaue Pfeil zeigt auf ein Magnet auf der Scheibe. In der Bodenplatte muss für die Scheibe eine Öffnung gemacht werden (roter Pfeil).



In der nächsten Abbildung ist der ZIMO-Decoder (blauer Pfeil), der Sound-Decoder (gelber Pfeil) und die Original-LGB-Platine (roter Pfeil) zu sehen.



Der Lautsprecher (roter Pfeil) wurde in einer Ecke des Führerstandes plaziert.



Zum Anfang


© 2018 by This Manhart - Letzte Änderung: 12.5.2000 - Impressum - Datenschutzerklärung